New Law Enforces Tougher DUI Penalties in Maryland
For many years, legal analysts have considered Maryland to be one of the most lenient states in the country when it comes to the penalties imposed on those convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).
However, with Noah’s Law, which went into effect October 1, 2016, any individuals convicted of DUI for the first time will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle for nine months. Their cars will only start if they blow under the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit of .08 percent.
Response to fatal DUI crash
State legislators named the law in remembrance of 24-year-old officer Noah Leotta, who was killed at a DUI checkpoint in 2015 when an intoxicated driver slammed into him. The law also mandates that a second DUI arrest would require the device to be installed for between 180 and 270 days, depending on the BAC level of the person convicted at the time of his or her arrest. Each device features the image of Officer Leotta.
If you are arrested for drunk driving in Maryland, it’s important to understand that the installation of an ignition interlock device could be part of your potential penalties upon a conviction. You may refuse this installation, but you may face a driver’s license suspension of up to nine months for doing so. Thus, you may be better off simply complying with the mandate, as it at least preserves your ability to operate your vehicle.
To learn more about these new DUI regulations and the other issues you may face after an arrest for drunk driving, speak with a knowledgeable La Plata DUI defense attorney at Mudd, Mudd & Fitzgerald, P.A.